News item
Printer friendly view Back to headlines
OIF launches new projects on 100G and 400G applications
Announced Date: 11/21/2013 Published Date: 11/22/2013

The Optical Internetworking Forum (OIF) has announced the launch of three new projects begun during the October meeting of members in Hong Kong:

  1. 400G framework document

    The Physical and Link Layer (PLL) and Carrier working groups have together begun to develop a 400G framework document, which will analyse and discuss trade-offs between high-order modulation formats, high data rates per channel and a number of subcarriers leading to the definition of application scenarios and limits for 400G operation.

    The framework document will also consider single optical carrier versus multi-carrier solutions for long haul and metro applications.

  2. Integrated polarisation multiplexed quadrature modulated transmitters for metro applications

    This project addresses the need for 100G coherent optical modulator modules for lower-cost, higher-density coherent metro applications. The new project will incorporate the use of new and advanced modulator technologies to enable smaller and more cost-effective components needed for these metro applications.

  3. Multi-link gearbox (MLG) 3.0

    The MLG 3.0 project will define a protocol to support in-band and remote monitoring and control and define IEEE 802.3bj RS-FEC compatibility.

    In some applications the transport of 10GBASE-R signals over N x 20G links requires definition, including 2 x 20G and 1 x 40G links. The MLG 3.0 Project will define in-band coding that preserves 10GBASE-R physical lane-to-lane ordering and in-lane bit ordering to support synchronous and asynchronous 10G lanes.

Board and officer elections

At the meeting, Dave Brown of Alcatel-Lucent was newly elected to the board of directors as VP of Marketing. Re-elected to the OIF board were Steve Joiner of Finisar, John McDonough of NEC America as VP, and Vishnu Shukla of Verizon as President.

Newly elected OIF officers and committee chairs include Nathan Tracy of TE Connectivity as Technical Committee Chair; Jonathan Sadler of Tellabs as Technical Committee Vice Chair; Brian Holden of Kandou as Market Awareness & Education Committee co-Chair, PLL; and Lyndon Ong of Ciena as Market Awareness & Education Committee co-Chair, Networking.